How Coding and Freelancing changed my life forever

freelance developer on a mountain in Indonesia

Subscribe If you don’t want to stay a brokie all your life

I help aspiring developers learn coding and become freelancers

Subscribe and become a DevHustler

Left Canada for Algeria

I was a 17 years old brokie guy studying computer science in Canada.

It was the lockdown at the time and I decided to go back to Algeria to see my family and pursue my study online.

But that didn’t go well because I failed my session I was too occupied going to the beach and having a good time with my family. 😁😁

So I told myself that I would return to Canada and finish my studies later.

But that didn’t go well either because there were no flights to go back to Canada.

Algeria was in a strict lockdown so I was stuck.😭

The start of the awakening

I wanted to stay productive and make some money to help my family, so I started looking at videos about making money online.

And I saw a lot of videos about freelance developers and discovered I could become one without any degree.

I just needed to have the skills and to find clients (it’s harder than it looks).

The start of my learning journey

So I started learning HTML, and CSS I thought I was a king then JavaScript, I struggled a lot but managed to learn it, and then PHP which I never really used.

after 5 months I joined a developer group that told me I needed to learn React which I did.

My first BIG client

And after 10 months of hard coding, learning a bunch of languages, and a lot of useless stuff I had my first BIG client. 🎉🎉🎉

All the work and the months invested paid off.

I was really happy because he wanted me to make a lot of websites and with that client, I was making enough money to start traveling I worked with him for like 4 months before finding other clients.

Left Algeria for Indonesia secret Island I’m coming🏝️🚀

pretty much at the same time, I had a friend from Canada that traveled and got married in Indonesia and he invited me to join him on a small island in the middle of nowhere.🏝️

I did join him not because I’m crazy but because I always wanted to go To Indonesia and live in a Muslim country where I can practice my religion freely where there is security and incredibly crazy breathtaking beautiful nature.🏝️☀️

My life now

and now it’s been 10 months I’ve been here on a secret island in Indonesia and I’m not going back to Canada.

So I learned to code and started freelancing and that’s how I was able to accomplish my dreams and goals and that’s how I’m tasting real freedom every day.

and Now I’m helping aspiring developers taste this freedom.

I attribute all my success to Allah’s guidance and blessings and I couldn’t do anything without him.

Alhamdulillah

Ps: I didn’t talk about how I learned to code and how I found clients this is just an article about how freelance and coding changed my life not how to freelance and how to learn coding this will be on another time.

Stay in touch

If you liked this story and want to learn coding and start freelancing don’t forget to join my free weekly newsletter: Become a DevHustler

for any inquiries don’t hesitate to reach out to me on Linkedin or Twitter

hero_photo_transparentbg.png

I’m a freelance developer that left Canada to live on a secret Island in Indonesia and I’m helping aspiring developers learn coding and start their freelance career

Subscribe If you don’t want to stay a brokie all your life

I help aspiring developers learn coding and become freelancers

Subscribe and become a DevHustler